

Utah Board of Higher Education Dixie Technical College Thursday, September 15, 2022

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MINUTES

Board Members Present

Lisa-Michele Church, Chair Jesselie Anderson, Vice Chair Stan Albrecht Julie Beck Stacey Bettridge Hope Eccles Patricia Jones Arthur Newell Shawn Newell Steve Starks Scott Theurer Xitlalli Villanueva Rick Wheeler **Board Members Absent** Grace Acosta Rich Christiansen Sanchaita Datta

Office of the Commissioner

Dave R. Woolstenhulme, Commissioner of Higher Education Geoffrey Landward, Deputy Commissioner and General Counsel Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Melissa Van Hien, Executive Assistant to the Commissioner

Southern Utah University Board of Trustees

Gil Almquist, Chair Stephen Wade, Vice Chair Darcy Stewart

Other Attendees

Members of the Dixie Technical College and St. George community

Chair Church called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Church welcomed those in attendance and thanked members of the presidential search committee for their efforts. Dixie Technical College Board of Trustees Chair Gil Almquist provided some brief remarks. Chair Church called for a motion. **Board member Wheeler made a motion to appoint Jordan Rushton as president of Dixie Technical College. Board member Jones seconded the motion, and the motion passed.** President Rushton addressed the group and expressed his appreciation and excitement.

The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Board Meeting Minutes Thursday, September 15, 2022 2

Geoffrey Landward, Secretary

Date Approved:

